More and more people opt for gluten-free diet these days. It becomes part of their everyday lifestyle. They change their diet completely and make healthier choices.
If you are one of these people and you love to cook various gluten-free recipes, you will often need gluten-free baking powder. Some brands are really gluten free but some are not.
So , what are the ingredients of a baking powder? They are: baking soda, cream of tartar (a bi-product of wine production) and a “moisture absorption agent” which is usually, but not always cornstarch.
Some other contents are : potato starch (gluten-free) and wheat starch (contains gluten) can be used in baking powder products.
Look at this list for baking powder brands that are gluten-free.
Most of these products are available at large and small grocery stores in the United States.
- Clabber Girl Baking Powder
- Davis Baking Powder
- Rumford Baking Powder – Non-Aluminum
- Hearth Club
- Bakewell Cream Baking Powder with Cornstarch – Aluminum-Free
- Hain Pure Foods Featherweight Baking Powder – Made with Potato Starch – Sodium Free
How to make Your Own Gluten Free Baking Powder
Very easy and inexpensive! if you want baking powder that’s vegan and gluten-free, here’s your recipe…
You can easily find the ingredients in your grocery store:
- 2 parts Cream of Tartar
- 1 part baking soda
- 1 part cornstarch
Stir and sift all ingredients together and you’ve got baking powder. Use as normal